National Helpline

Call us:

0300 302 3731

or

0208 538 3731

Walk in SEN advice centres

Click here for details and locations.

Walk-in SEND Advice Centres

 

Come and talk to one of our experienced volunteers.  We run free advice centres spread across the month during school term times in Aldershot, Birmingham, Bristol, Hampton, Kent, Manchester, Tamworth, Thornton Heath, Watford, Worcester Park and near Waterloo Station in Central London.

  • No appointments, just turn up at the designated times.
  • Be prepared to wait your turn
  • Unless you have a booked time (Tamworth & Birmingham), please arrive during the first hour of the advice centre opening.
  • Do sign in and complete a parent information form, this will help us direct you to the right adviser.
  • If you are bringing a child, please ensure another adult is available whilst you are seeing the adviser. This is to ensure their safety and prevent disturbance to other parents who have come for advice.
  • Please do not arrive before the start time because waiting space is very limited.
  • Bring along any relevant papers, filed in date order to save time and make it easier to help you.
  • We cannot offer refreshments, you may want to bring a cold drink with you.
  • Consultations will have to be keep to a maximum time limit of 20 minutes if the Advice Centre is busy.
  • We cannot guarantee to see anyone arriving after the designated 'door closing' time.
  • Please note that time will not permit us to help with long pieces of work such as checking draft EHC Plans and appeal grounds.
  • Please also note that we cannot guarantee that any specific volunteer or member of SOS!SEN will be at any given Advice Centre.  If you need to see a specific person, please book a 1:1 session, see our services page.

Advice Centre dates are subject to change - please check this page before setting out. 

SOSSEN Case Note Form - for completion prior to attending

 

Please:

Avoid bringing children and keep to one person from each household.

Wear masks during your advice session.

Bring your own pen.

Fill in your case note in advance if possible. 

Bristol

APPOINTMENT ONLY 

Please only book if you are committed to attending, these appointments are in high demand.

Venue: Sports Bar, Imperial Sports Ground, West Town Lane, Bristol, BS14 9EA

10-12pm. The Sports bar is on the accessed through the Café/Bar (opposite the reception desk on the ground floor)

  • Tuesday 16th November 2021 - APPOINTMENT ONLY
  • Wednesday 15th December 2021 - APPOINTMENT ONLY
  • Tuesday 18th January 2022 - APPOINTMENT ONLY
  • No February date - Half Term 
  • Tuesday 15th March 2022 - APPOINTMENT ONLY
  • Tuesday 19th April 2022 - APPOINTMENT ONLY
  • Tuesday 17th May 2022 - APPOINTMENT ONLY
  • Tuesday 21st June 2022 - APPOINTMENT ONLY
  • Tuesday 19th July 2022 - APPOINTMENT ONLY

 

Thornton Heath

https://www.facebook.com/events/169398015346135

Usually on the first Tuesday morning of each month.

From 10.15 to 12.15. At the Salvation Army, 66 High Street, Thornton Heath, Surrey, CR7 8LF                         

  • Tuesday 5th October 2021
  • Tuesday 2nd November 2021
  • Tuesday 7th December 2021
  • Tuesday 4th January 2022
  • Tuesday 1st February 2022
  • Tuesday 1st March 2022
  • No April date - Easter Holidays
  • Tuesday 3rd May 2022
  • Tuesday 7th June 2022
  • Tuesday 5th July 2022

Please note that doors close at 11.45am.

 

Worcester Park

https://www.facebook.com/events/947512176116060/

Usually on the first Wednesday evening of each month.

From 4.00 to 6.00pm. At SOS!SEN Charity Shop, 90 Central Road, Worcester Park KT4 8HU

  • Wednesday 3rd November 2021
  • Wednesday 1st December 2021
  • Wednesday 5th January 2022  CANCELLED due to health and safety reasons
  • Wednesday 2nd February 2022
  • Wednesday 2nd March 2022
  • Wednesday 6th April 2022 - OPEN (despite the holidays!)
  • Wednesday 4th May 2022
  • No June date - Half Term
  • Wednesday 6th July 2022

Please note that doors close at 5:30pm.

 

Aldershot

https://www.facebook.com/events/2083705808435321/

Usually 2nd Tuesday morning of each month.

From 10.15 to 12.15 at The Games Shop (opposite Costa Coffee), 6 Wellington Street, Aldershot, Hampshire, GU11 1DZ

  • Tuesday 14th September 2021
  • Tuesday 12th October 2021
  • Tuesday 9th November 2021
  • Tuesday 14th December 2021
  • Tuesday 11th January 2022 THIS WILL NOW TAKE PLACE ONLINE/VIA PHONE - Book for an online appointment here: https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/sos-sen-january-advice-centre-aldershot-tickets-240902524937 DO NOT ATTEND THE VENUE. 
  • Tuesday 8th February 2022
  • Tuesday 8th March 2022
  • No April date - Easter Holidays
  • Tuesday 10th May 2022
  • Tuesday 14th June 2022
  • Tuesday 12th July 2022

Please note that doors close at 11.55am.

 

Hertfordshire 

https://www.facebook.com/events/1031773431001475

Usually 2nd Tuesday morning of each month.

From 10:30-12:30pm at Potential Kids Training Room, Old Management Suite, The Galleria Outlet Centre, Comet Way, Hatfield, Herts, AL10 0XR

  • Tuesday 12th October 2021
  • Tuesday 9th November 2021
  • Tuesday 14th December 2021 - ONLINE/VIA PHONE
  • Tuesday 11th January 2022 THIS WILL NOW TAKE PLACE ONLINE/VIA PHONE - Book for an online appointment here: https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/sos-sen-january-advice-centre-hertfordshire-tickets-237570478697 DO NOT ATTEND THE VENUE. 
  • Tuesday 8th February 2022
  • Tuesday 8th March 2022
  • No April date - Easter Holidays
  • Tuesday 10th May 2022
  • Tuesday 14th June 2022
  • Tuesday 12th July 2022

Please note that doors close at 12pm.

 

 

 

 

Manchester

https://www.facebook.com/events/3159697664308793/

From 10:00 am to 12pm At Levenshulme Inspire Centre, 747 Stockport Road, M19 3AR

Inspire is situated on the A6 main route and is well served by public transport with Levenshulme train station a 5 minute walk away. Free parking on surrounding side streets as well as parking bays which are free for two hours on the A6 itself.

  • Wednesday 20th October 2021  CANCELLED 
  • Wednesday 17th November 2021
  • Wednesday 8th December 2021
  • Wednesday 26th January 2022
  • Monday 28th February 2022
  • Monday 21st March 2022
  • Wednesday 20th April 2022
  • Wednesday 25th May 2022
  • Wednesday 22th June 2022
  • Wednesday 20th July 2022

Please note that doors close at 11:40pm.

 

Hampton (next to Hampton Station)

https://www.facebook.com/events/177700867776348/

Usually 3rd Tuesday 10:15-12:15pm once a month.

At Hampton Inspired Hub, 3 Ashley Rd, Hampton TW12 2JA

  • Tuesday 28th September 2021
  • Tuesday 19th October 2021
  • Tuesday 16th November 2021
  • Tuesday 14th December 2021 
  • Tuesday 18th January 2022
  • No February date - Half term
  • Tuesday 15th March 2022
  • Tuesday 19th April 2022  CANCELLED
  • Tuesday 17th May 2022
  • Tuesday 21st June 2022
  • Tuesday 19th July 2022

Please note that doors close 30 minutes before end of session

 

Waterloo

Waterloo Advice Centre  

 

 

Kent

Usually, third Friday morning of each month, 10-12pm.

https://www.facebook.com/events/1081884899013896/

Just outside the M25 and close to Ebbsfleet International

At Eastgate, 141 Springhead Parkway, Northfleet, Gravesend, Kent DA11 8AD

  • Friday 17th September 2021
  • Friday 15th October 2021
  • Friday 19th November 2021
  • No December date
  • Friday 21st January 2022
  • No February date - Half term
  • Friday 18th March 2022  CANCELLED
  • Friday 22nd April 2022  CANCELLED 
  • Friday 20th May 2022
  • Friday 17th June 2022
  • Friday 15th July 2022

Please arrive by 11:30am so you are seen before the Advice Centre closes.

 

Oxford

Usually, first Friday morning of each month, 10-12pm.

https://www.facebook.com/events/290169186453211/ 

At The Meeting Room, Flo’s – The Place in the Park, Rymers Lane, Oxford OX4 3JZ

  • Friday 7th January 2022
  • Friday 4th February 2022
  • Friday 4th March 2022
  • No April date - Easter Holidays
  • Friday 6th May 2022
  • Friday 10th June 2022 (12:15-2:15pm)
  • Friday 1st July 2022

Please arrive by 11:30am so you are seen before the Advice Centre closes.

 

Tamworth

Serving the Midlands area

(Usually on the first Tuesday of each month) 

From 10:00 am to 2:30 pm. At ASDA, Ventura Park, Tamworth B78 3HB 

  • Tue 04 February 2020
  • Tue 03 March 2020
  • Tue 07 April 2020 CANCELLED
  • Tue 05 May 2020
  • Tue 02 June 2020
  • Tue 07 July 2020

Please note this is a pre-book 30 minute session and doors will close at 2.00 pm.

Request an appointment at Tamworth AC by emailing Midlands@sossen.org.uk. **

 

Birmingham

(Usually on the second Wednesday of each month) 

From 10:00 am to 2:00 pm. At Birmingham City University, Curzon Street, Birmingham. B4 7XG 

  • Wed 08 January 2020
  • Wed 12 February 2020
  • Wed 11 March 2020
  • Wed 08 April 2020 CANCELLED
  • Wed 13 May 2020
  • Wed 10 June 2020
  • Wed 08 July 2020

Please note this is a pre-book 30 minute session and doors will close at 2.00 pm.

Request an appointment at Birmingham AC by emailing Midlands@sossen.org.uk. **

 

** Please note that this email address is for appointments only and is only checked intermittently.  We cannot guarantee appointments on any particular date.